Rosemary Van den Berg Prize for First Nations Criticism

Rosemary Van den Berg Prize for First Nations Criticism


The aim of this biennial prize is to celebrate a work of criticism (understood broadly, to include
writing about literature published online and in print, in review and scholarly publications) written by
a First Nations critic in Australia and published within the period of 30 April 2021 and 30 April 2023.
Pieces for consideration are to be submitted by nomination. The winner will receive $5000.
This prize is offered in partnership by the Association for the Study of Australian Literature and the
Copyright Agency Cultural Fund.


Judging Criteria

Judges will use their expertise in the form to determine the strongest overall entry which adheres to

the Conditions of Entry. Nominations must be emailed to [email protected].

Further details available here:

The decision of the judging panel is final, and no negotiation will be entered into.

PDF terms and conditions are available here: Rosemary Van den Berg Prize


About Dr. Rosemary Van den Berg

Dr. Rosemary van den Berg was a respected Aboriginal elder, who worked as an

editor (with Magabala), a consultant, public speaker, researcher, teacher and writer.

She was born at the Moore River Native Settlement and spent her childhood years at

Pinjarra with her family. Her father was a Mulba/Marlba man from the Palkyu people

and her mother was a Nyoongar woman from the Bindjareb people. Her books include

her father’s life story, No Options No Choice: The Moore River Experience (1994), a

scholarly monograph, Nyoongar People of Australia: Perspectives on Racism and

Multiculturalism (2002), a co-edited anthology Those who remain will always

remember. An Anthology of Aboriginal Writing (2002) (with Anne Brewster and

Angeline O’Neill), and a memoir, Clogs and Bare Feet (2012). She also published

scholarly articles, journalism and short stories. She was awarded the Indigenous

Higher Education Award (2010) and the National Aboriginal & Islander Day

Observance Committee Scholar of the Year Award (2000). She worked as a lecturer

at Murdoch University and an Associate Professor at Curtin University.