A.D. Hope Prize

A.D. Hope Prize

The A.D. Hope Prize is awarded annually for the paper judged to be the best paper delivered by a postgraduate student. The winner must be a member of ASAL who presented at the July annual conference (July ASAL conference or July Literary Convention). The paper is to be sent to the judging panel, in publishable form, after the conference (date to be announced each year). The winning paper will be afforded the opportunity of publication in JASAL and the winner will receive $500.



2019 Winner: Louis Klee for “Exile Translatable and Untranslatable”. Louis is a PhD candidate in Criticism and Culture at Gonville & Caius College, the University of Cambridge.

This paper is a sophisticated and sensitive reading of Said’s photo-essay After the Last Sky and its contexts. It explores the politics of the dialogue between image and text, and the ‘inside outside’ dialectic set up and destabilised within it.  It offers some persuasive comparisons across genres.




2018 Winner: Valérie-Anne Belleflamme for “Moving on metaphorical silk roads of intellectual trade”:Chinese aesthetics in Gail Jones’s Five Bells” – from CEREP Postcolonial Research Centre, English Department, University of Liège, Belgium


Highly commended: Li Lu, for “A Study on Chinese-English Translation of Modern Poems from the Perspective of Adaptation TheoryShanghai University of International Business and Economics


For more information about A.D. Hope click here.

More Information:

Previous Winners

2017  Jonathan Dunk  “Jacky Alone: The Explorer Myth and the Politics of Aboriginal Authorship”

2016  Shaun Bell  “but even memory is fiction’: The
(fictional) Life and (self) Writing of Sumner Locke Elliott”

2014  Caroline Williamson  “Beyond generation green: Jill Jones and the ecopoetic process”

2012  Michael Farrell  ”Unsettling the Field: Christopher Brennan and Biodiversity”

2009  Duncan Hose “Instructions for an ideal Australian: John Forbes’s poetry of metaphysical etiquette”

2008  Scott Brewer ‘”A Peculiar Aesthetic”: Julia Leigh’s The Hunter and Sublime Loss’

2007 Joanne Jones “Dancing the Old Enlightenment” and Ben Miller “David Unaipon’s style of subversion” JASAL (Special Issue 2008)

2006 Julieanne Lamond “The Ghost of Dad Rudd: On the Stump” JASAL (2007)

2005 Catriona Ross “Prolonged Symptoms of Cultural Anxiety: The Persistence of Narratives of Asian Invasion within Multicultural Australia” JASAL 5 (2006)

2004 Sandra Knowles “The Not Quite Real Miles Franklin: Diaries as Performance” JASAL 4 (2005)

Previous Reports