Mary Gilmore Award

Mary Gilmore Award

To be given for the best first book of poetry published in the previous calendar year (until 2016 this was for the best first book of poetry in the previous two calendar years and until 1999 for the best first book of poetry published in the previous calendar year). After a ruling at the 2018 ASAL Annual General Meeting, from this time forward the prize is for a poet’s first book which contains 32 or more pages of poetry.

2020 Judging panel:

Chair: David McCooey  (

Dan Disney (

Jill Jones (

Mary Gilmore Award 2019 Winner:

That Sight by Marjon Mossammaparast (Cordite, 2018)

Mary Gilmore Award 2019 Shortlist:

Full citations and shortlist

    • About The Author Is Dead by Pascalle Burton (Cordite, 2018)
    • Calenture by Lindsay Tuggle (Cordite, 2018)
    • Crave by Holly Friedlander Liddicoat (Rabbit Books, 2018)
    • Flood Damages by Eunice Andrada (Giramondo, 2018)
    • That Sight by Marjon Mossammaparast (Cordite, 2018)
  • The Hijab Files by Maryam Azam (Giramondo, 2018)

Keri Glastonbury

More Information:

Previous Winners

2018 Quinn Eades for Rallying UWA Publishing

2017 Aden Rolfe for False Nostalgia Giramondo

2016 Benedict Andrews for Lens Flare Pitt Street Poetry

2014 Rose Lucas for Even in the Dark UWA Publishing

2012 Fiona Wright for Knuckled Giramondo
2010 Joanna Preston for The Summer King Otago University Press
2008 Nathan Shepherdson for Sweeping the Light Back into the Mirror UQP
2006 David McCooey for Blister Pack Salt Publishing
2004 Michael Brennan The Imageless World Salt Publishing
2002 Geraldine McKenzie for Duty Paperbark Press
2000 Lucy Dougan for Memory Shell Five Islands Press
1998 Emma Lew for The Wild Reply Black Pepper Press
1997 Morgan Yasbincek for Night Reversing Fremantle Arts Centre Press
1996 Jordie Albiston for Nervous Arcs Spinifex Press
1995 Aileen Kelly for Coming Up for Light Pariah Press
1994 Deborah Staines for Now, Millennium Spinifex Press
1993 Jill Jones for The Mask and Jagged Star Hazard Poets
1992 Alison Croggon for This is the Stone Penguin
1991 Jean Kent for Verandahs Hale and Iremonger
1990 Kristopher Rassemussen for In the Name of the Father False Frontiers
1989 Alex Skovron for The Re-arrangement MUP
1988 Judith Beveridge for The Domesticity of Giraffes Black Lightning Press
1987 Jan Owen for Boy with Telescope A and R
1986 Stephen Williams for A Crowd of Voices Pariah Press
1985 Doris Brett for The Truth about Unicorns

Previous Reports